The Legend Continues…Federer Wins

Well folks, it was the finale we all dreamed of. Two legends, Federer vs Nadal in the Aussie Open Finals. Both in their 30’s, both coming back from injuries…neither one of them having to play Djokovic or Murray on their way to the finale.

Personally, I was hoping for an edge of your seat, nail biter. The kind of match where my human holds her breath, rocks back and forth, clinches her fists, tells me to hold her coffee so she can yell at the TV in between gasps of disbelief. But that’s not what we got today. As you can see from the final score 6-4, 3-6, 6-1, 3-6, 6-3, that is not what this 5 setter was at all. It was more of long periods of lapse of concentration from both players. And just when they are down, say 0-4 in the second set, you can almost hear them tell themselves “What the what? Doesn’t he know who I am? Don’t I know who I AM? I’m Roger Federer for God’s sake!” And then there would be a shift in momentum.

For me, I like to root for the undercat. The one who really has no chance of winning, but wouldn’t it be darn cool if they did. In this match, there was no such player. Ultimately, it came down to a fifth set, Roger getting the best of Rafa. Honestly, I thought Rafa had it, but Federer was relentless and put it away in the end. It came down to a challenge on Rafa’s side, which then led to a very anti-climactic finish. Roger wins #18.

With that, the Australian Open is a wrap. No more waking up in the wee hours of the morning to watch a match on the other side of the globe for my human, which means no early breakfast for me :(….until next year. If this opening of the grand slam season is any indication of what’s to come this year, I am super pumped! Remember, I predicted a Nadal win at the French Open and a Federer win at Wimbledon. Maybe I really do know what I’m talking about. Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

