Delray Beach Open Final Thoughts

Well, it’s Sunday and the Delray Beach Open has wrapped up with an anti-climactic finish. Highest seeded player, Milos Raonic withdrew from the final, and that leaves a win for Jack Sock. They really need to come up with a new rule for when someone withdraws from a final. Maybe the other semi-final player plays instead? Kind of like Miss Universe. If she can’t fulfill her duties, the runner-up steps in. Same concept.

Three final thoughts as we bring this tournament to a close.

  1. If I have to hear the commentators talk about players today hitting the ball harder, faster, better, stronger one more time, I’m going to scream! YOU are not Kanye West, guys, so just cool your jets with the catchy phrases!
  2. The red Porsche on center court….is it necessary? I thought it was ridiculous, especially during the semis when their were spectators sitting IN the Porsche DURING the match. Distracting!
  3. The Nike shorts! I swear, did you purposefully design a black and white keyboard stripe right down the front leading to the players’ nether regions? You might want to rethink this!

Next week, we’ve got all the big players back on court in Dubai! Murray, Federer and the gang! Looking forward to some great court action!

 

7 thoughts on “Delray Beach Open Final Thoughts

  1. I think you had a great idea–Del Potro playing Sock would have been great! But, Raonic didn’t decide to withdraw until Sunday morning, and Del Potro had already left the area, so it wouldn’t have worked. It would be tricky to make that rule, as most players who lose in the semis are already traveling to the next tournament, and injury decision could be made any time before the match. Sock did do an exhibition match (one set) for people who came to watch the final (and refunded their tickets), but it still sucks about the withdrawal. I was really looking forward to that match. I’m a ball kid for the tournament, and I hate that Porsche xD trying to get balls from under it freaks me out, because it delays the match sometimes. So I try to take any ball kid position but the Porsche LOL. But I think it is necessary, because Porsche is a big sponsor for the event, and they have the Porsche every year, so I guess it won’t be going away anytime soon. And anyway, I wouldn’t want to be in that Porsche. Fast serves coming straight at you? No thanks πŸ˜› I really loved the post!

    Like

    • You’re a ball kid? That’s amazing, I love that! I’ve always wanted to do that. I would be rather slow…kitties don’t run very fast! πŸ™‚

      I didn’t even think about balls that roll under the car. That’s tricky.

      Glad you enjoyed my post. I love the game and everything around it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

