Indian Wells Hangover

Well fellow kitties and furry friends alike, I have an Indian Wells hangover. As you can see, it was so bad yesterday, I couldn’t even bring myself to write the “Sunday Slice” on a Sunday. Yesterday was the finals and none of my picks won.

Women saw two Russians, Svetlana Kuznetsova and Elena Vesnina, battle it out. And when I say “battle it out” I totally mean it. It was like neither player was giving the other player an inch! And it went to the bitter end, 6-7, 7-5, 6-4. I of course was purring for Kuznetsova for the simple reason of I like her nickname “Koozy.” But also she became my female hero when she chopped her hair off last year…court side, mid-match…because her long braid was hitting her in the eye.  Koozy Haircut   What’s more important? Hair that will grow back or winning a match?  She has her priorities straight. That’s my girl!

The Men saw two Swiss players (you know them), Roger Federer and Stan Wawrinka. In my heart, I knew it would be Roger easily. With the decisive way he has been playing this year, and this tournament in particular, (did you catch his match against Rafa?), I knew it was no contest. But, can’t a cat have a catnap dream? A dream where Stan the Man walks on court and become the Man he is when he wins Grand Slam titles? Well, he didn’t show up and Roger obliterated him in two sets.

I had so many hopes for underdog/up and comers this week at Indian Wells, that I am in such a funk. Nick Kyrgios, Jack Sock, Novak (on a wing and a prayer). But nope…predictability wins again. I love him, but damn you Roger!

4 thoughts on “Indian Wells Hangover

  1. It’s impossible to hate on Roger. He’s just too much of a gentleman for that! I never knew about the courtside haircut – I’ll have to look it up now!

    Like

    • Jack Sock. American player. He’s strong…some of the fastest hitting players on tour. Matter of fact, if I recall correctly, he had the fastest forehand at the Australian Open this year. (the ESPN article is linked to my first True Cat Confession post)!

      Like

Leave a Reply

