Be Still My Beating Heart

You know how sometimes you are so exhausted after watching a tennis match, you…just…can’t…even? Oh no, never happened to you? Yeah, well that was me after watching the Miami Open’s semi-final match between Nick Kyrgios and Roger Federer last night. I swear I thought my heart was going to leap out of my chest!

I won’t give you a play-by-play, but let’s appreciate it for what it was. Old guy Federer coming back in 2017 playing like it’s 1999. New guy Kyrgios coming back from being suspended from tennis for bad behavior just months ago. A chair umpire who is a stickler for certain things like 1) the server’s time between points, 2) the player’s time between point to challenge request, 3) keeping the crowd under control. Put all these things together and you have a match that could be a continuous highlight reel!

To sum things up:

  • Federer played flawless tennis (big whooping surprise)!
  • Kyrgios stayed away from the crazy antics he used against Sasha Zverev in the previous round (biggest surprise of all), yet played flawless tennis.
  • It went to three sets, all ending in tiebreaks. Final score Roger Federer over Nick Kyrgios 7-6, 6-7, 7-6.

This win sets up a classic Federer/Nadal final for Sunday. But for now, I’m tired and need some rest. Til tomorrow, friends…

5 thoughts on “Be Still My Beating Heart

  1. I was on the edge of my seat watching this match! Kyrgois not but a month ago upset Djokovic, so it was very interesting to see such a close match. I’m glad Federer won, love that guy! Now off to the final tomorrow.
    Last month at Delray, I remember someone was laughing loud during one of the points of a Sock match, and when Sock lost the point, he sure got mad! I think towards the end with that crowd noise that made Kyrgois lose it was when Federer really got the upperhand mentally.

    Like

  2. Tennis is the only sport I e ever really played. I loved it when I played it, but I’m not much of an athlete. I don’t watch much of it either, but if I had to pick a sport to watch it would probably be tennis.

    Like

Leave a Reply

