Dear Rafael,

I’m a fan! Honestly Rafael Nadal…HUGE fan! So much so, I gave you legit respect by using your full name….Rafael. I know that usually it’s Rafa, but for this fan letter, it is proper props for the “King of Clay” Rafael Nadal.

I will be honest, I was not always a fan. At the beginning of the Federer/Nadal era, I was on the Fed Express train all the way. I think it was your knee length knickers and sleeveless tops that turned me into a sad-cat. So unconventional, I just couldn’t reconcile myself to see past it. There is an ongoing debate in my house about this look. But for me, your current style is much better. Like really…so, so better! Meow!

When did I wake up from my nap and take notice of this “Rafa Nadal?” It was gradual, really. I was impressed with how you rehabbed through your injuries and your openness when talking about your progress. It’s as if you didn’t want to hide anything from anyone. Like you respected your fans enough to be honest with them. And you speak so softly, a complete juxtaposition of how you play. You seem like a really nice person to know.

Let’s talk about your power! There is  no one on the men’s circuit who is built like you…or plays like you. You’re like a boxer just throwing left hooks, then right hooks, then upper cuts until your opponents are down with a TKO. You are so fun to watch. I almost pity the fool who has to stand on the other side of the net from you. How do they mentally prepare themselves for this? I have no idea! If it was me, I would hide under the bed. And you never ever let up on your intensity. From the first point to the last, it is game on sucka!

I will refrain from talking too much about your Tommy Hilfiger commercial from 2015. Wink, wink. Not going to include the YouTube link here, but you know the one. Yep! That one.

Here’s a little piece I wrote about you during the 2017 Australian Open after you beat Zverev in a five-set match. I hope you enjoy it.

Vamos Rafa!

As we start the 2017 clay court season, you are chasing records! You have 9 wins each for three tournaments: Monte-Carlo, Madrid and the French Open! I think you can make it 10, 10 and 10!! A Rafael “perfect 10!” You have had a renaissance start of 2017, so let’s keep it going! Vamos Rafa!

Tennis love,

Frazier

 

Leave a Reply

