But Still Like Air, I Rise

Good news, friends! Serena Williams is having a baby! Another precious being waiting to join us on this earth! And she won the 2017 Australian Open while 8 weeks pregnant…and she moved back to #1 in the WTA rankings the week she announced her pregnancy, having not played a match since January! Is there nothing this champ can’t do? But you know what makes her truly remarkable?  The grace she has when faced with adversity. And she has had to face tons of adversity getting to where she is today.

Bad news, friends…Ilie Nastase opened his mouth! It is no coincidence his nickname is “Nasty”. Not familiar? He’s a former world #1 player from back in the Connors/McEnroe era. I won’t give a link or go into the details because I don’t want to give too much attention to negativity. Ugliness breeds ugliness.

Good news, friends! Serena is a bigger person than Ilie Nastase could ever dream of being. In response to the nastiness that is Nasty Nastase, she sent a very clear message through her instagram page. Here is a short excerpt:

I am not afraid, unlike you. You see, I am no coward. “Does my sassiness upset you? Why are you beset with gloom?

You may shoot me with your words…you may try to kill me with your hatefulness, but still like air, I rise.

– Serena Williams

A good friend of mine, Paulina the Porcupine, texted me on Sunday and asked if I was going to write about Serena’s news, and at the time, I wasn’t even going to mention it. When those awful comments were made about her (along with other unmentionable remarks), I still was going to stay away from the topic. But when she posted her response to the issue, I thought “this is a message that needs to be spread.”

So come on everyone…let’s spread some love, acceptance and strength and like air…RISE!

8 thoughts on “But Still Like Air, I Rise

Leave a Reply

