Wimbledon Eve

Well furry friends, it’s finally here! Wimbledon Eve! Much more exciting than Christmas Eve, don’t you think? I mean, besides having a big green tree in my living room with shiny lights, shimmering ornaments to play with, presents to unwrap, Wimbledon Eve could be my favorite holiday.

Wimbledon is the epitome of classic tennis. It is held in a private club in ye olde England (did you hear my British accent right there?). Grass courts are the original court surface of tennis, players don their their best whites! Classy! Almost too classy for an old fashion house cat like myself. But maybe that’s why I get so excited to be transported to the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club for a fortnight every Summer!

I don’t think anyone would have predicted a 2017 Wimbledon like this one, but this has been an unusual year in tennis, indeed. From the ashes, Roger Federer remarkably rose to the top of his game this year. Rafa Nadal is close behind, dominating the recent clay court season. It will be interesting if that momentum can carry through the low bounce of the grass courts. The top two players from last year, Novak Djokovic and Andy Murray, are just afterthoughts in the discussion…like shooting stars fading in the dark night sky.

Then we have your typical dark horses…Nick Kyrgios, Jack Sock, Sascha Zverev…maybe Stan Wawrinka? Yeah, yeah, I know what you’re thinking. “Frazier, Jack has a warm chance at Christmas time to win Wimbledon.” Well, you’re right, but I will always throw some love towards my US players.

On the women’s side, Serena is out this year, and the rest of the field have been unpredictable. I look to see Karolina Pliskova make a solid run for it. And then how about Jelena Ostapenko, the surprise winner of the French Open? I know, I know….who? Yes, that’s how I feel, too. But if I want to continue writing a relevant tennis blog, I better learn how to spell that girl’s name, and QUICK!

So, stay tuned because this should be an exciting two weeks. I may not get to open any presents, but watching the matches each day is a gift unto itself.

Happy Wimbledon Eve!

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/fraziersracket

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/fraziersracket

Leave a Reply

