True Cat Confession #6: What’s Your Angle?

As I finally began to shake off the Wimbledon hangover, I emerged from a deep cat nap. Normally when I am in such a relaxing nap, I dream of things like chasing the bird that visits me on the patio every morning, playing kitty baseball with my human (you know…she throws a crumbled up paper at me and I bat it with my paw…I’m a pretty talented kitty cat!), or simply laying on the dock of a beautifully calm lake, basking in the warm of the midday sun.

But not today….today I dreamed about geometry! Triangles, in particular.ย  You know, the three sided shapes that come in all different varieties! You’ve got the equilateral, the obtuse (my favorite one to say), the isosceles, acute….you name it. Any different way you can connect three points, you’ve got yourself a triangle.

What do triangles have to do with tennis, Frazier? Well, it’s simple. If you watch tennis closely, part of the strategy comes down to what type of triangle the player plans to make when striking the ball. The three points : Player 1, Player 2, and the imaginary line the player travels to get from one ball to the other. The idea is to create an angle that the other player can’t get to.

Here is a good example:

This is a right triangle. Let’s pretend the server is in the lower right corner, on the baseline. He serves across court to the top left point. The returner hits the ball straight down the line to the bottom left corner. If he hits it fast and hard enough, he could win the point because his opponent will not have time to get to that side of the court.

So, as you are watching your next tennis match, and there will be plenty to watch in the next couple of months leading up to the US Open, pay attention to the angle strategy that the players use!

This is just my amateur, tennis fan observation and know that much more goes into playing the game. But, I hope this makes your tennis more enjoyable to watch!

Follow me on Facebook and Twitter

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/fraziersracket

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/fraziersracket

8 thoughts on “True Cat Confession #6: What’s Your Angle?

  1. Being that I am a “math cat,” I have to totally agree with you Frazier. I have not looked at tennis this way before, however, as I watch upcoming matches, that will be my peak of interest. It’s like dancing in a way, making a triangle with your partner. I love your ‘angle’ this week Frazier!
    ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ‘Œ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

