The Future’s So Bright

I gotta wear shades. That’s right y’all, go grab my Ray Ban’s for me, will ya, because I am blinded by the light! I’m revved up like a deuce…Bruce Springsteen wrote that song, BTW (you’re welcome! πŸ˜‰ ). Good thing I don’t have to wear my sunglasses at night! Hold up…too many 80’s one-hit-wonder references? Too much for a Sunday? Can I really ever have too many references to 80’s music? No, I don’t think so (LL Cool J, Going Back to Cali).

I digress…have I even started? I guess I’m just excited for the future of men’s tennis, as it was on full display this week! As we countdown to the US Open, we found ourselves in Washington DC at the Citi Open. Two worthy opponents met each other for the final: Kevin Anderson and Sascha Zverev. Kevin Anderson is a bit of a veteran, but has been out due to injury. Sascha Zverev is part of this “Next Generation” of players the ATP is trying to promote. He just turned 20 in April, and he has been making quite a name for himself this year. He beat Anderson like it was no big deal, 6-4, 6-4, winning his fourth title this year.

Image:yahoo.sports.com

I want to dislike Sascha Zverev so bad. I do, I really do. Much like I wanted to hate Roger Federer when he beat Pete Sampras in the 4th round at Wimbledon in 2001. He was only 19 years old at the time and Pete Sampras had won Wimbledon seven previous years (and Pete is my all-time favorite player). I knew at that moment, big changes were coming in men’s tennis.

Am I comparing Sascha to Roger? Not necessarily. It’s a little premature for that. I mean, this tournament is not a grand slam. It’s not even a Masters 1000 level tournament. But, in a couple of weeks, he will be on the world’s biggest tennis stage and we will all see if he’s got the goods. If he plays anything like he did today…clean, powerful, strategic shots, with loads of confidence…I think we have a future grand slam winner on our hands!

This coming week, we head north of the border to our friendly neighbor, Montreal Canada. This is a Masters 1000 tournament and Rafa and Roger got the top seeds. This will be a good test to see if I will need my Ray Bans or if I can leave them in the car while I’m revving up my deuce coupe!

Follow me on Facebook and Twitter

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/fraziersracket

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/fraziersracket

One thought on “The Future’s So Bright

Leave a Reply

