The Tide Has Shifted

Did you feel that this morning? Maybe a tiny disturbance while you were pouring your breakfast cereal. Or an a small inexplicable light flicker? What was that? A little shift in the tides, purrhaps? Well furry furriends, you were not imagining these things. We had a great tennis match and the tennis tides are shifting!

If you recall, last week I noted that Roger Federer, the King of Grass, did not look as commanding coming into Wimbledon as Rafa Nadal did on clay this year. I didn’t think his winning streak would last. His power, dominance and presence would be tested and today, 21 year old Croatian, Borna Coric was on the opposite side of the net ready to take him to task!

Coriccropped

So what if Borna’s big round eyes looked like they just woke up, he was ready to play! Coric was solid as a rock, strong as steel, smooth and steady throughout the whole match. And I think most importantly, he was not intimidated by his opponent. A lot of players let the fact that they are playing the best male player to ever play the game get into their heads. Well, guess what…what goes up, must come down eventually. You can’t be at the top forever. Today, Coric was better.

The match went to three sets. The first set was a tiebreak going to Coric (I even high-fived my human when Borna won that first set). The Roger looked across the net angrily, as to say “Don’t you know who I am,” and he wins the second set 6-2. But Coric didn’t flinched. He basically answered Roger with a win in the third set, as to say “Yes, I do. And now you know me!”

We have one week until Wimbledon and I think this win will not only give Borna Coric some confidence going in, but other players, as well. They see that Roger is not unbreakable. I’m still sticking with my prediction that is will not be Roger lifting the Wimbledon trophy at the end. Stay tuned and we will see together.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Tide Has Shifted

  1. Pingback: The Tide Has Shifted — Frazier’s Racket – SEO

Leave a comment